Flowers, herbs, and seeds

I haven’t been reading as much as I should this month, so I’ve been thinking back on other books.  My Cousin Rachel seems like something nice for this time of year, when we’ve got rain and all the plants are blooming.

I’ve only read two books by Daphne du Maurier, and I definitely preferred Rebecca to Rachel.  Mostly because of the protagonists. Rachel‘s protagonist is a man who goes from the ages of 24 and 25, and he is abhorrent.  The author perfectly captures the entitlement and foundless confidence of young men, which is admirable, but I often found myself a bit too repulsed by him, even if that was perhaps the point.  The second Mrs. de Winter, by contrast, was always a delight to read about.

But anyway, I read My Cousin Rachel a while ago and don’t have the clearest memory of it.  But I do have a clear memory of the aesthetic:

  • Spring rain
  • Black lace
  • Stormy weather
  • Herbal teas
  • Seeds and dried herbs
  • Planting flowers and the smell of soil
  • Priceless gems
  • Cold, wet, windy days and nights

The mud makes me want to drink sweet tisanes and experiment with spices, thanks to Daphne du Maurier.

It rained yesterday and I bought thyme, cardamom, barley, split peas, two sapphires, and peaches.  Then jasmine, chamomile, lemon, and mint teas.

tumblr_o6b3esV7Qu1v8unoco2_1280

2 thoughts on “Flowers, herbs, and seeds

Leave a Reply

