Poems for the earliest moments of April 21st

From Sara Teasdale’s Rivers to the Sea

April

  THE roofs are shining from the rain,
The sparrows twitter as they fly,
And with a windy April grace
The little clouds go by.

  Yet the back-yards are bare and brown
With only one unchanging tree—
I could not be so sure of Spring
Save that it sings in me.

Deep in the Night

  DEEP in the night the cry of a swallow,
Under the stars he flew,
Keen as pain was his call to follow
Over the world to you.

  Love in my heart is a cry forever
Lost as the swallow’s flight,
Seeking for you and never, never
Stilled by the stars at night.

Alchemy

  I LIFT my heart as spring lifts up
A yellow daisy to the rain;
My heart will be a lovely cup
Altho’ it holds but pain.

  For I shall learn from flower and leaf
That color every drop they hold,
To change the lifeless wine of grief
To living gold.

Morning

 I WENT out on an April morning
All alone, for my heart was high,
I was a child of the shining meadow,
I was a sister of the sky.

  There in the windy flood of morning
Longing lifted its weight from me,
Lost as a sob in the midst of cheering,
Swept as a sea-bird out to sea.

tumblr_o4ce1sh0Zx1v8unoco1_540.jpg

Leave a Reply

