What do you offer? / (Silence)

I have finished the complete plays of Sarah Kane and I don’t know what to think.  I know nothing of theatre, though.

The first I read, and my favourite, was 4.48 Psychosis, because it was so raw and real.  There was nothing about it that I disliked.

But then I moved on to Blasted, Crave, Phaedra’s Love, and Cleansed, in that order.  Really I think the problem is that I will never enjoy things like rape, or racial slurs from a white person.  Rape is in every play.  Again, I know nothing of theatre: is the point to shock?  Is the point to have no comment on it?  Personally: it’s just not a thing I will ever accept in art and there are very few instance of rape in art that I will be able to stomach (namely, that which comes from people dealing with their own sexual trauma in a very “This art is a clear representation of me dealing with sexual assault” way).  And then the slurs, especially in Blasted, are so hard for me to take in.  Again, it has a purpose, it demonstrates how awful the character is, whatever.  But I can so imagine being in an audience, watching white people on stage spouting racial hatred for shock or because ‘well, we’re all good white people and we know that it’s wrong, you can trust us,’ while we praise the white writer, and me feeling smaller and smaller (you know that feeling of being in public surrounded by white people listening to ‘well meaning’ racism which has some intellectual purpose and you just feel like you’re being pelted with sharp hail while everyone else has umbrellas).

The thing is that this would be enough for me to totally abandon Sarah Kane.  Maybe keep 4.48 Psychosis, and reject everything else.  But then she does such good violence and absurdity!  This alone is enough to make it worthwhile.  But I don’t know how to reconcile that which is painful — I do not need pain, regardless of its purpose — and that which is creative, funny, experimental.

Darkness
Light

Ian masturbating.

Ian cunt cunt cunt cunt cunt cunt cunt cunt cunt cunt cunt

Darkness
Light

Darkness
Light

Ian strangling himself with his bare hands.

Darkness
Light

Ian shitting.
And then trying to clean it up with newspaper

Darkness
Light

Ian laughing hysterically.

Darkness
Light

Ian having a nightmare.

Darkness
Light

Ian crying huge bloody tears.
He is hugging the Soldier‘s body for comfort.

Darkness
Light

Ian lying very still, weak with hunger.

Darkness
Light

Ian tears the cross out of the ground, rips up the floor and lifts the baby’s body out.

He eats the baby.

He puts the remains back in the baby’s blanket and puts the bundle back in the hole.
A beat, then he climbs in after it and lies down, head poking out of the floor.

He dies with relief.

tumblr_o3onso1XK81v8unoco4_1280

Leave a Reply

